Civil War Interactive Discussion Board Home
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register

New Member - Introductions - About this Forum - Start Here - Civil War Interactive Discussion Board
 Moderated by: javal1
 New Topic   Reply   Printer Friendly 
 Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: Sun Aug 10th, 2014 08:58 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
1st Post
MadJohn

Mana: 

greetings all,
I am Mad John. Not really mad but some may think so. I am a retired mechanical engineer. Now I have a bit of time on my hands to pursue my hobbies. I am a gunsmith and have been doing this as a hobby for over forty years. I currently work for museums and private collections and institutions on care and repair of antique and historic weapons. I have been a life long collector of American weapons prior to the Indian War period. One of my Museums has had a fire and lost a considerable part of their Civil War and earlier weapons collection. My job has been to recover as much of these pieces to presentable condition. It has been several years and I am far from completion. I have recovered a couple hundred pieces. Museum work is great.
Recently I finally managed to purchase an item that has been on my list for many years. It is out of my realm of expertise as I do not know alot about artillery.
This is a place where I would like to start a discussion.
Thanks, John

Posted: Mon Aug 11th, 2014 10:59 am
   PM  Quote  Reply 
2nd Post
Old Blu

Mana: 

Welcome. What kind of cannon do you have?

Posted: Mon Aug 11th, 2014 05:52 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
3rd Post
MadJohn

Mana: