View single post by booklover
 Posted: Mon Mar 31st, 2008 09:16 pm
 PM  Quote  Reply  Full Topic 
booklover

Mana: 

First off, I asked this question knowing full well that several people may (and obviously do) disagree with me. So if I seemed a bit sensitive to either Ed or David, allow ME to apologize.

Second, whether or not I understand copyright law and intellectual property issues (and not being a lawyer, I only have a laymans understanding of both, so certainly no offense taken, David) I am coming to this from what happens in the real world. David, as a budding author I certainly want to make as much money off my work as is possible, but does that mean I will sue someone who scans my book into his or her computer after checking it out from the library? No, because I was already compensated by the library's purchase of my book. What happens to it after that point is no longer in my immediate control, and while the law may have definite points as to what is legal in this situation, how many people have been arrested or fined for copying a book? I see the Copyright Act notice at every copy machine (or scanner) in every library I visit, but I've yet to see the police haul away someone or see someone fined for doing so.

If by the point this happens I have other books in print, it may prompt the person to buy one, or it may prompt him to go back to the library, check out another one, and scan it in as well. I can't stop someone from doing it, and worrying about it seems a waste of good stress. Even though I'm not magnanimous enough to say I don't care about making money, my main motivation in writing is to share what I know about Everton Conger with the rest of the world. Making a boatload of money from it would be wonderful, but it's not my main motivation. I accepted a long time ago that I'm never going to be rich from what I write.