View single post by burnsideshot
 Posted: Tue Jul 11th, 2006 05:24 pm
 PM  Quote  Reply  Full Topic 
burnsideshot

Mana: 

It's a two way street, is it not (see below posted letters...I highlighted the good stuff in red)  I'm not a pro on this topic, which is why I started the thread, but it would be true that he wasn't bound in fact to notify anyone of anything if a city is fortified and therefore a definitive military target?  The letter below actually requests Hood's help in evacuating civilians out of Atlanta.  As far as I am concerned, that was his only real responsibility (morally)...no?  I don't know, I'm sort of just raising arguments to offer an opposing side to yours.  I would love to hear your feedback.  Don't take my posts personally.  :)    - Jessie

[On 7 Sep 1864, Maj Gen Sherman, commander of Union forces occupying Atlanta GA, sent a letter to Gen. J.B. Hood, commander of opposing Confederate forces, requesting his cooperation in the peaceful evacuation of civilians, mostly pro-Confederate, from Atlanta, which was to be converted into an exclusively military fortress and target.
Gen. Hood wrote back agreeing to cooperate, since "I do not have any alternative in this matter," but added a reproach.]
[letter by Gen. Hood to Gen. Sherman]
"Permit me to say that the unprecedented measure you propose transcends, in studied and ingenious cruelty, all acts ever before brought to my attention in the dark history of war.
"In the name of God and humanity, I protest, believing that you will find that you are expelling from their homes and firesides the wives and children of a brave people."
--letter, dated 9 Sep 1864, from Gen. J.B. Hood to M.Gen. W.T. Sherman
Vol. II, p. 119.
[Reply by Gen. Sherman to Gen. Hood]