View single post by indy19th
 Posted: Wed Aug 9th, 2006 02:34 pm
 PM  Quote  Reply  Full Topic 
indy19th
$user_title

Mana: 

Shadowrebel wrote: Indy,

I am not a lawyer either. You are right in stating that ex post facto is after the fact. Nowhere I can find in the Constitution does the President have the right to suspend habeas only Congress. The Congress giving its' blessing to an illegal act, IMO, does not make it legel. If anyone can show me in the Constitution the President can suspend habeas as he did in Maryland, as Taney ruled he could not, I will consider changing my view.:D

Regards,

Shadowrebel

If anyone can show me that states could unilaterally secede from the union and also that a confederation of states in rebellion could seize gov't property and smuggle federal munitions into states in rebellion and fire shots in anger at federal installations, I might consider changing my view as well. :)

But here's a little more on habeas:

...WHEN MERRYMAN FILED HIS REQUEST WITH HIS LOCAL CIRCUIT JUDGE, HE WENT TO NONE OTHER THAN ROGER TANEY, CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE U.S. SUPREME COURT.

10 WHEN HE RECEIVED MERRYMAN'S PETITION, TANEY ORDERED THE COMMANDER OF FORT 11 INSTEAD OF SENDING MERRYMAN, THE COLONEL SENT BACK AN AIDE BEARING A POLITE MESSAGE. THE PRESIDENT HAD AUTHORIZED THE COLONEL, IN THIS TIME OF WAR, TO SUSPEND THE WRIT OF HABEAS CORPUS. MERRYMAN WOULD STAY AT FORT MCHENRY. THIS, AS YOU CAN IMAGINE, INCENSED THE CHIEF 12