View single post by Eric Wittenberg
 Posted: Sun Jan 7th, 2007 06:07 pm
 PM  Quote  Reply  Full Topic 
Eric Wittenberg

Joined: Sat Dec 16th, 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 49

  back to top


Let's be quite precise about this:

The Army of the Potomac had a Cavalry Corps under command of Maj. Gen. Alfred Pleasonton, consisting of three divisions commanded by John Buford (1st Division), David M. Gregg (2nd Division) and Judson Kilpatrick (3rd Division--Custer commanded a brigade in Kilpatrick's division).

The Army of Northern Virginia had a single division of cavalry consisting of three brigades. The Cavalry Division was commanded by Maj. Gen. J. E. B. Stuart.

In addition, four more brigades of cavalry, which normally did not serve with the Army of Northern Virginia, accompanied Robert E. Lee's army into Pennsylvania. They were the brigades of William E. "Grumble" Jones, Beverly H. Robertson, John D. Imboden, and Albert G. Jenkins. These commands served under Stuart's command, but were not formally part of his division.

In September 1863, Lee ordered the formation of a formal Cavalry Corps structure for the Army of Northern Virginia. The Corps was organized into three divisions, all under Stuart's command. All seven of these brigades were incorporated into the corps. The three divisions were commanded by Maj. Gens. Wade Hampton and Fitzhugh Lee. The third division was temporarily commanded by a brigadier general. In early 1864, when he was exchanged for Brig. Gen. Neal Dow, newly-promoted and newly-returned former POW Maj. Gen. W. H. F. "Rooney" Lee, General Lee's second son, assumed command of the third division.

I hope that helps to clarify the situation for you.


Last edited on Sun Jan 7th, 2007 06:08 pm by Eric Wittenberg

 Close Window