Civil War Interactive Discussion Board Home
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register

Group for Facebook Users - General Civil War Talk - Civil War Talk - Civil War Interactive Discussion Board
 Moderated by: javal1
 New Topic   Reply   Printer Friendly 
 Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: Sat Aug 2nd, 2008 06:46 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
1st Post
mikenoirot

Mana: 

Greetings CWI members,

I have recently joined this site, and look forward to reading your posts.  I am very involved in Civil War battlefield preservation, and am involved with the Civil War Preservation Trust.  I am also an amateur photographer. 

I wanted to let you know about a group I created on Facebook.  It is American Civil War Battlefields and has quite a few posts and pictures.  I created this group because I believe the younger people (less than 30) know very little about this important time in our country's history.  Since many in this age group use Facebook I thought this was a perfect venue for getting information out to them.  I find many of them will research assignments on Facebook, so it definitely reaches the younger audience.  For those of you with profiles, on Facebook, you can easily find American Civil War Battlefields by searching groups.  For those of you that are not on Facebook, but are interested, you can create a profile quickly, and access it.  For those of you that have no interest in social networking websites, such as Facebook, you can check out my website, dedicated to the same principles - raising awareness of the American Civil War.  It can be found at http://www.BattlefieldPortraits.com/.   I would appreciate your comments on these sites.

PS.  Message boards, and list-servers are still my primary source for networking with people with similar interests.  I do not ever see a Facebook group replacing this type of forum. 

Thanks so much for the bandwidth.

Posted: Sat Aug 2nd, 2008 07:25 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
2nd Post
izzy

Mana: