Civil War Interactive Discussion Board Home
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register

Fresh Fish - Introductions - About this Forum - Start Here - Civil War Interactive Discussion Board
 Moderated by: javal1
 New Topic   Reply   Printer Friendly 
 Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: Fri Jul 29th, 2011 06:51 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
1st Post
rebelnc1987
Transplanted Tar Heel

Mana: 

Hello all,

My name is Mark, I live in Pennsylvania, about a half hour from Gettysburg. I've been studying the Civil War since I was taken to Gettysburg around the age of 3- one of my earliest memories is asking my Dad when we could go and see General Lee again. I studied history in college and in the last year have become interested in geneaology. This led me to be interested specifically in North Carolina and it's contributions to the war- much of my paternal grandfather's family hails from Union and Stanly counties in the middle south of the state.

I have discovered ancestors who have served in both the west and the east. I've been lurking for some time on this forum, brought here by the daily news on this site and decided to say hello to all! I must say there are many people here who have greater knowledge than I do and I wanted to say thank you for helping me learn about new aspects of the war.

A majority of my family served in the Branch/Lane brigade (18th, 28th, and 37th regiments) but on my maternal grandfather's side of the family I have the pride of having at least two close relatives who served the Union- in the 1st CT HA and the 12th Rhode Island. I am currently serving in the 1st PA Bucktails reenacting group and have been talking to the 28th NC reenacting group to work out getting involved with them.

It is my dream to one day be able to move to Union or Stanly county and stay, in the same place as my ancestors.