Civil War Interactive Discussion Board Home
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register

Hello - Introductions - About this Forum - Start Here - Civil War Interactive Discussion Board
 Moderated by: javal1
 New Topic   Reply   Printer Friendly 
 Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: Thu Aug 11th, 2011 04:44 am
   PM  Quote  Reply 
1st Post
PA Bucktail
Co. B, 1st PA Rifles

Mana: 

Hi, my name is Dave and I am a Civil War enthusiast/reenactor from Allentown (yes, that Allentown), PA. After having had interest in the subject for years, it became a full-on obsession several years ago upon reading the Shaara's series. It began with books, followed by painting miniatures, Civil War video games (Take Command: Second Manassas and Scourge of War: Gettysburg), genealogy and finally the ultimate step: reenacting.

I am in my first year of reenacting, with Company B of the 1st Pennsylvania Rifles (13th PA Reserves, 42nd PA or simply the Bucktails) and often enough I find myself just waiting for the next time that I'll get to go out and truly live.

For those interested, I have ancestry in the following units: 6th PA Reserves, 46th PA, 48th PA, 151st PA and 28th MA. There's another who was in a PA cavalry unit, but the regiment escapes me at this time.

I look forward to finally having some good discussion!

Posted: Thu Aug 11th, 2011 09:01 am
   PM  Quote  Reply 
2nd Post
javal1
Grumpy Geezer

Mana: 

Welcome PA,

Good to see another one from my home town. What area of Allentown do you live in? At various times I lived at 9th & Chew, 10th & Turner, 13th & Liberty, as well as Whitehall, Coplay and Walnutport.

Posted: Thu Aug 11th, 2011 03:00 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
3rd Post
PA Bucktail
Co. B, 1st PA Rifles

Mana: 

Small world, isn't it? I've lived on the south side, near where Emmaus Av. is. Used to be very quiet there, but with all the New Yorkers coming in it's starting to get worse quickly.

Posted: Thu Aug 11th, 2011 07:37 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
4th Post