Civil War Interactive Discussion Board Home
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register

early baseball - Other History - The Lounge - Civil War Interactive Discussion Board
 Moderated by: javal1 Page:    1  2  Next Page Last Page  
 New Topic   Reply   Printer Friendly 
 Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: Thu Jan 19th, 2012 12:40 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
1st Post
csamillerp

Mana: 

baseball has always been a passion of mine, i've played from the time i was 8 until i graduated high school. I dont really care for today's baseball, but i really enjoy  baseball from the early 20th century. My favorite is Ty Cobb as he was my fathers great uncle. I dont think todays players could compete against lou gehrig, babe ruth, ty cobb, joe dimaggio, jackie robinson, jimmie foxx and hank greenberg. they played in heavy leather shoes, wool outfits and baseballs that werent always perfectly round. Today the players have ulta lightwieght clothing, cleets that are custom designed for the individual player that is also made out of the lightest material available. And its hard as hell to hit a homerun, but imagine hitting one with a ball that isn't perfectly rounded!  To the avid baseball fans on this site, what  are ya'lls opinions? Who's your favorite baseball player of all time? And i always love to learn new interesting facts about the golden era of baseball.

Posted: Thu Jan 19th, 2012 07:50 pm
   PM  Quote  Reply 
2nd Post
BHR62

Mana: 

I was a hardcore baseball fan growing up and still am to a degree. They definitely played for love of game in the early days. God knows it wasn't for the money like now.

Babe Ruth was a giant amongst his peers. Nobody has ever dominated the sport as he did and never will. When he retired with 714 homers nobody was above 300. The guy batted for average also. Plus until he was made into a full time hitter he was the best pitcher in baseball. It was highly controversal when the Yanks converted him into a hitter.